What would Jesus say to Michael Jackson?


Okay, okay. So I got more to say about Michael Jackson than what I thought I did. But actually, it’s not so much about Michael Jackson, than it is about presenting to you, a possible dialogue between Jesus and Michael Jackson.

You see, when I heard the news that Michael Jackson was dead, my first thought was, “Yeah right.”

My second thought was, “Shame. Poor dude.”

My third thought was, “Wow! I don’t think he is saved.”

And then my fourth thought was, “Let’s say Michael Jackson was to have one of those near death experiences where he gets to go to heaven, experience a bit of the wonder and majesty of God, meet Jesus, have a conversation, and then come back for another chance at life, what would it be that Jesus would say to him.”

I think the first thing Jesus would say to Michael is:

(very lovingly) “Oh Michael!”

And then He’d take him into His arms and just hold him for what may feel like an eternity to Michael. I think Jesus would just hold and hold and hold and hold and hold him, so that Michael would clearly get the message “I love you”.

As Christians, it is sometimes quite difficult for us to comprehend that Jesus loves EVERYONE. And died so that EVERYONE can go to heaven. Even the ones we think don’t “deserve” to go to heaven. Like grab-my-crown-jewels-pelvis-gyrating musicians.

But the truth is that He did. And I think that He has a really special thing for the ones that need-to-know-it-but-don’t-get-it, the most.

So I think that if Jesus had the chance to have a frank discussion with Michael Jackson before he died, He really would have wanted him to know that He loves him.

The second thing I think Jesus would say to Michael Jackson, is:

I like what you’ve done with your hair.
– Pause –
And your face, and your nose, and for that matter, your whole body.

But you know Michael, I thought you looked pretty good when I was finished creating you! I mean, I did create the whole universe and everything in it, including you, and I thought I did a pretty good job about it.

Perhaps at this point, Jesus would change tack and would continue and say something in line with the following:

Anyway, let sleeping dogs lie. It’s never really been about what you look like on the outside anyway. I’ve always been far more interested with how you look on the inside. And so has the Father. Yes, what you portray on the outside is in part a reflection of what you are on the inside! But it was never and will never be the issue. What’s going on inside, is much more important. Oh how I longed for you to grasp and develop that which I placed inside of you! How so different you would have been. And the world as a result.

The third thing I think Jesus would say to Michael is:

Michael. I’m sorry that you suffered the way you did and had to endure what you went through. There is no execuse for it. Evil is evil.

But I promise you this.

One day I will make all things new. I will wipe all your tears away and there will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain. And I am preparing a place for you in my Father’s house. I don’t know when that day is going to be. Only my Father knows. But wait for me. I’m coming back. And don’t lose heart.

The fourth thing Jesus would say, is:

You know Michael. Now that you’ve seen me and realise that I’m not a mythical character or a figment of someone’s imagination, I hope you’ve come to realise that you need to make right with God.

All those things written about me in the Bible are true. And as you can see, heaven is a real place. And I want you here so much, that I was willing to die so that you would be able to make right with God.

All you have to do is believe it. Then receive it.

And the fifth and last thing I think Jesus would say to Michael Jackson, is:

Now go!

Go!

Go tell everyone about me. Go tell them how much the Father loves them. Go tell them that He cares. Go tell them that they can make right with Him. Go tell them that I’m preparing a place for them in heaven. Go tell them that I’m coming back. And tell them it’s soon.

Go! There’s no time to waste.

Go! Before it’s too late.

The Father wants none of them to be lost. He wants all to come to heaven. The angels wait to rejoice.

But they MUST believe.

Now go!

About Darryl Schoeman

My Personal Life : challenge leads to thought and thought leads to change More than the Apostle Paul, I can say that I am the chief of sinners (really really really). But I love God and I love the Bible. So I try to live my life with the constant realisation that God is PERMANENTLY with me (yes even when I sin), and seek His presence in everything that I do (except when I sin) and in everything that happens. I share this with others so that they too can believe it and then seek to live it.

Posted on July 15, 2009, in Religion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. WOW……there is a POWERFUL MESSAGE in that……Why doesn’t the Daily News publish front page stuff like this??

  2. Sheldon you took the words right out of my mouth! Powerful message indeed!

  3. I think you have it spot on Darryl! I really really really believe Jesus is coming very soon….we do have to go & tell everyone that it is realistically going to be the difference on where we spend eternity….in an unimaginable paradise or the unimaginable hell that Jesus warns us about!!! We need to read our Bibles because in my opinion I believe it is History already written and Gods loving way of even telling us beforehand what is going to happen….just listen to Him, believe in Him and leave it up to Him…He loves us He will never let evil harm us…He surrounds us in His armour…just ask Him, He will never say no! I love my Lord Jesus Christ and I pray that I will not be left behind!

  4. Wow! I think you wrote a fantastic piece. It really makes sense! Well done – God Bless you Darry

  5. Winston Mashua

    Great thinking Darryl, very positive and tactfully written. It is a sobering fact: while the world is busy concerned about the trivial issues and catagories of good, bad, memorable, fame, controversial, sales, career etc you correctly emphasize the real catagories i.e Jesus or No Jesus. I must admit that i have mixed feelings as i read the article. I think it is spot on and truthfully creative but i also wonder how many people will miss the boat and swim in the river of offense. The world has a problem with us already when we say that someone will go to hell if they don’t know Jesus, but they really go wild when we make the statement… “now that he/she has died”…..

    • Hey Winston. Thanks for the comment. I agree that some may swim in the river of offense, but there is no getting about it. The truth is that it is either Jesus or no Jesus. There is no getting about it when we preach it from the pulpit, or when we write it on a blog. But when all else fails, these three remain: faith, hope and love. The greatest of these is love. Would we love Michael Jackson as Jesus would love him?

  6. Hi Darryl, Really Great.What a different perspective on MJ’s death and I love the way Jesus talks to him. It makes it so much more real and just the easy way He wud talk to us. And what is more important,He shows us what actually is important. Not the things we think or feel are important, ie. looks, is hip, is popular, is cool,is going to make lots of money, etc. It is what we are inside and how we show others that we belong to God.Us as God’s advert. Will we win the awards or will we win the “onion” awards instead.
    Darryl, Don’t stop.Lv u.
    Di

