In defense of the granddads


So many times, whenever we read a story like the one posted about the under 30’s club, we have the same response as the original author does, when we hear the stories of how our granddads had to walk uphill to get to school, and then walk uphill to get home again. And we’ve all thought, yeah right; you can’t walk uphill twice going in opposite directions!

But as Timon from the Lion King would say, “Au contraire, my porcine pal.” I believe you could walk uphill going there and uphill going back. Let me explain.
What we fail to forget whenever we listen to such a story, is that it is a story being told. And any good story teller is going to want to keep you rivetted to the story. And one has to give the teller a bit of poetic licence when telling the story.

So it is my assertion that no story teller is going to tell you he walked 5 miles uphill to school, then went down the hill, and then walked up the hill home again, and down the hill on the other side. It just doesn’t flow.

But it shouldn’t detract us from the fact that maybe graddad really had to go up the one side, and down the other side to actually get to the school. And of course on his way back, he would have had to go up the hill again, and of course down the other side again.

Nah. It’s far easier to write the old man off to having Alzeimers or something, than to actually believe him. So go ahead grandpa. Tell it like it is. I believe ya.

my name is darryl
and this is what i have to say

About Darryl Schoeman

My Personal Life : challenge leads to thought and thought leads to change More than the Apostle Paul, I can say that I am the chief of sinners (really really really). But I love God and I love the Bible. So I try to live my life with the constant realisation that God is PERMANENTLY with me (yes even when I sin), and seek His presence in everything that I do (except when I sin) and in everything that happens. I share this with others so that they too can believe it and then seek to live it.

Posted on August 20, 2009, in Humour and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Reblogged this on this is what i have to say and commented:

    I was ‘cleaning’ up my posts and found this old post of mine. Brought back some good memories. Enjoy.

