Do you remember the Fanta adverts??


I read an article recently about the Finnish police investigating a case of virtual theft. That’s right!! Virtual theft. Not real theft of real things, but real theft of not real things (is that even theft – “stealing” something that doesn’t actually exist). Don’t believe me? Read about it here. Come on people!

Does anyone remember the Fanta ads not so long ago where you had the guys making cut-out friends from cardboard? And they’d be hanging out with these not-so-real-friends where everyone else drinking Fanta was having a rad time (not to mention of course all the people having a rad time who are drinking coke, sprite, and smoking Peter Stuyvesant cigarettes – and don’t forget the Castle Lager)!!

Now I know that a lot of people are really having a good time playing all these virtual games and all, but please for the sake of human sanity, keep it real – remember that it’s only a “game” and not real. The article mentioned that people had actually paid money for this virtual furniture. That is real, tangible, hard earned cash, for digital bits and bytes. Please, please don’t get sucked into this. Don’t get sucked into giving your money away for something that is not actually real.

And while we’re talking about real, please remember that soapies are not real either. It’s make believe, and that, someone else’s make believe. If you really have to fantasise about a life worth living, make it your life.

my name is darryl
and this is what i have to say

ps  – check out life sentence for killing a mannequin about another virtual crime that got some headlines not so long ago

pps – read the Finnish police article here

About Darryl Schoeman

My Personal Life : challenge leads to thought and thought leads to change More than the Apostle Paul, I can say that I am the chief of sinners (really really really). But I love God and I love the Bible. So I try to live my life with the constant realisation that God is PERMANENTLY with me (yes even when I sin), and seek His presence in everything that I do (except when I sin) and in everything that happens. I share this with others so that they too can believe it and then seek to live it.

Posted on June 4, 2010, in Absurd and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Do you remember the Fanta adverts??.

Comments are closed.

