Is it too much to expect Hollywood to actually read the Bible


… before speaking on behalf of God? If there is but one thing and it is the ONLY thing that you take away from this blog, know now that God is not angry with you, your brother, your sister, your mother, your father, your auntie, uncle, cousin, neighbour, or friend. For that matter then, He’s not angry with the world. So please, please, please, do not go watch Legion and believe that this is an accurate reflection of things to come.

Now I’m probably preaching to the converted as they would say, but you know people who may actually believe this. So here’s a few Biblical bullets to put in that gun of yours when you need to fire away at them.

It all started this weekend when I was browsing the movie scene to see what to watch. I read the synopsis for Legion (below):

When God finally loses faith in Mankind, he decides to end the world and sends his legion of angels to bring on the Apocalypse. However, one of his favourites has not yet decided to call it a day in his support of humankind.

Now, humanity’s only hope lies in a group of strangers trapped in a remote gas station diner somewhere in the New Mexico desert and their unlikely ally, the Archangel Michael (Paul Bettany) who has decided to go against God and defend man to the last.

End quote.

Please understand that I have NOT watched this movie. But if people read the above and think, ‘Let me see how God’s going to end the world’, then they’re probably the right candidate for your round of Biblical bullets.

I can think of really a lot say in just the very first sentence of the synopsis, but this is not going to be a theological discussion around the nature of God, Man or Sin. Rather, I want to leave you a few scripture verses to have on hand when you’re thinking of what to chat about to someone (bypassing the weather).

1. God never has and never will give up on mankind. It’s the other way round. John 3:16-17 (NIV) is clear: “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to SAVE the world through him (emphasis mine). 2 Peter 3:9 takes this a step further when it says that God is “… not wanting anyone to perish …”

2. A reading of Revelations will show you that God is not going to send a legion of angels to destroy mankind (that’s only Hollywood’s version). Yes there are a few involved, but the Arch Angel Michael is not going to be defying God. If any “angel” is going to be defying God, it’s going to be the same one that defied him in the beginning – Satan (see Rev 12:9). In fact, it is quite clear that Satan will be be deceiving the world and raising up an army to fight for him (see Rev 20:8).

3. Mankind’s only hope is NOT in himself (or some wayward angel); it’s in Jesus. Colossians 1:13 says that it is Jesus who rescues us (not an angel).

The moral of all that I say: know your Bible and always speak the truth.

And if you find yourself fighting against God one day, please know that you’re on the wrong side.

my name is darryl
and this is what i have to say

PS – if you think I’m being too serious, please remember that there are people who will actually believe what they see in the movies. You need to help them see the truth.

About Darryl Schoeman

My Personal Life : challenge leads to thought and thought leads to change More than the Apostle Paul, I can say that I am the chief of sinners (really really really). But I love God and I love the Bible. So I try to live my life with the constant realisation that God is PERMANENTLY with me (yes even when I sin), and seek His presence in everything that I do (except when I sin) and in everything that happens. I share this with others so that they too can believe it and then seek to live it.

Posted on June 7, 2010, in Biblical Philosophy, Christianity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thank you for these biblical bullets Darryl-I will defenety be firing my ‘gun’ when confronted by comments about this movie.
    Praise be to God!

