Life has an ending; why does not!!


If you are or have been the parent of a toddler, then you will know EXACTLY what I am talking about. Don’t get me wrong, I love my son; but when the why’s start, I’m kind of wishing I had one of those remotes from the movie Click – – – mute and next scene would be perfect.

And for those of us in the know, there does not have to be a reason for the why. It has a life of it’s own. It’s as if when God recorded in the Bible that He had made Adam and Eve, He forgot to make mention that He had created Why too. When you’re older, why has a purpose – you gain understanding. But when it’s coming out of the mouth of a toddler, it’s on the same scale of purpose as mosquitos (well for me at least!!).

And don’t give me that ‘it’s only a phase, it’ll pass’ **explicitive**. I know I’m supposed to know that and I KNOW it will come to an end (eventually), but it’s one of those comments that are completely void of meaning (and feeling) when you’re the one stuck in the middle of it. If you really want to make a difference, YOU come and answer the whys for me and let me have a break (and a good laugh while you’re at it).

Sometimes I wonder if God ever resented creating Why. I mean think about this for a moment. God creates Adam on the sixth day. After creating ALL of the Earth and everything in it, He finishes off by creating Adam. So here you’ve got this full grown male that has just been “birthed” with no parents to have raised him, and who does he see when he opens his cute little eyes? God!!! And then he probably started asking God a whole bunch of whys…..

Adam: God, God, God, God, God, God, God, God.
God: Yes Adam.
Adam: Why did you make me on the sixth day?
God: Because I didn’t make you on the fifth.
Adam: Why?
God: Because you were so special, I left you till last.
Adam: Why?
God: I just told you, it’s because you are so special.
Adam: Why am I special?
God: Because you’re made in My likeness?
Adam: Why?
God: Imagine I made you looking like a monkey! Do you think you would have appreciated that?
Adam pauses for a moment as he contemplates what God has just said and God walks with His chin held high, proud of His answer.
Eventually Adam answers: Why didn’t you make me like a monkey?
God slumps His shoulders and slaps His forehead. And He’s worse off than us because He can’t even cry out ‘Oh God!’ (a few times).

Can you see it? Can you see how long why can live? For a toddler, there never, ever is a sufficient answer to end the why. There’s always another why.

Even Hollywood understands the power of why! In the movie Matrix Reloaded, the Merovingian (a bady type) says “Oh, yes. …. The Keymaker. …. But this is not a reason. This is not a “why”. … his very nature is a means. It is not an end. And so to look for him is to be looking for a means to do… what? … Our only hope, our only peace is to understand it, to understand the why. Why is what separates us from them, you from me. Why is the only real source of power, without it you are powerless.”

Why?

Maybe the real reason that God has placed why in our hearts is so that there will always be that yearning within us; that insatiable dissatisfaction that never rests, never gives up, never just accepts the answers that society gives us. Maybe it is there so that once we have asked and asked and asked, and not heard the truth, that then, maybe just then, our hearts will settle and be satisfied when it hears the truth – – – God – Is – Real!

“… our hearts are restless till they find their rest in you.” – St Augustine

my name is darryl
and this is what i have to say

About Darryl Schoeman

My Personal Life : challenge leads to thought and thought leads to change More than the Apostle Paul, I can say that I am the chief of sinners (really really really). But I love God and I love the Bible. So I try to live my life with the constant realisation that God is PERMANENTLY with me (yes even when I sin), and seek His presence in everything that I do (except when I sin) and in everything that happens. I share this with others so that they too can believe it and then seek to live it.

Posted on June 10, 2010, in Humour and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. My sister once told me that when I kid asks “Why?”, they are really saying “how do you know that?” So I try to keep that in mind with my little ones.
    I once set up a circular why/answer with my daughter when she was a bit younger than her now 4 years. It went something like this:
    Me: it’s bed time.
    CJ: why?
    Me: Cause the sun has gone down.
    CJ: Why?
    Me: It is dark outside.
    CJ: Why?
    Me: Cause it is bed time.
    CJ: Why?
    Me: Cause the sun has gone down.
    CJ: (pausing for a while to sort it out in her head) Daddy you’re just being silly.
    Me: (trying not to laugh) But it is still bed time…

