My son knows what a raw-bolt is


And he’s not afraid to use it!! I discovered this the other day when he and I were busy doing some work around the house. We were busy installing a table top that is to become my study table. He picked up the raw-bolt from the floor and said, “When you turn this it gets bigger, isn’t that right daddy, it gets bigger in the wall.”

Now of course I just think that he is the cleverst little dude in the whole wide world. But you gotta admit that knowing how a raw-bolt functions at age just less than 4, is kind of good don’t you think. Praise and affirmation towards him flowed off my lips and he basked in it, soaking it up.

Is it because he’s got a special gifting that he knows this? No. Is it because he’s a prodigy? No. The reason he knows is because of an intentional effort on my part to get him involved with handyman work – my version of discipling the next generation.

Now I’m not talking about building a house, but from age 2 already, I put a screwdriver in his hand and he helped me fix things around the house. We would tighten the screws on the garden bench, or we would rewire the plugs on appliances. He was hitting nails dead straight into a piece of wood at age 3 and he can saw a piece of wood on his own. There is “nothing” that we can not fix.

Just recently we “upgraded” in his abilities when he started to drill with me. He’s always been a bit afraid of the loud noise that goes with drilling. When he was younger, he would simply go to mom. Then it progressed to standing and watching at a distance with mom. Then that distance got closer and closer, until one day (recently) he asked if he could help me drill. So he tucked into me as he and I held the drill, and we cautiously started to drill.

What a thrill he got when he finished drilling his first hole. He was over the moon. And the reward for all this was whilst he was standing to one side watching me finish some finer work, he pipes up, “Daddy – I love you.” I had helped him overcome one of his greatest fears and he loved me for that. He adores Superman, but in his eyes, I am his hero. Why? Because I took the time to help him overcome his obstacles, be that a fear based issue or general struggle.

Yes, doing handyman work with your 4 year old will make the project so much longer. But how is that any more different than God is with us? We call it sanctification, but it is essentially God being very patient with us. He knows that it’s going to take a lifetime to make us Christ-like, but He takes the time anyway. So give your child some slack and take the time. And then maybe too you will be rewarded with many spontaneous I love you’s.

my name is darryl
and this is what i have to say

About Darryl Schoeman

My Personal Life : challenge leads to thought and thought leads to change More than the Apostle Paul, I can say that I am the chief of sinners (really really really). But I love God and I love the Bible. So I try to live my life with the constant realisation that God is PERMANENTLY with me (yes even when I sin), and seek His presence in everything that I do (except when I sin) and in everything that happens. I share this with others so that they too can believe it and then seek to live it.

Posted on July 30, 2010, in Family Matters and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Kerri (your awesome sister)

    aaaaaaaah sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeet :)))))

    ps….do u do built in cupboards Schoeman Boys?

