In defense of Rick Warren’s HIV initiatives


Let me start off by unequivocally stating that I am a fan of Rick Warren. And whilst there are some concerns that have been brought to my attention, I just have not yet had the time to fully investigate them enough for me to revoke my fan status.

One of the more recent issues raised is his whole drive to ‘eradicate’ HIV. The view expressed is that Biblically, we will not be able to cleanse or heal the whole world before Jesus returns (see Matthew 25). And I believe that too. Yet, as humans (and by the grace of God), we have eradicated the world of small pox. What’s to say that we can’t do the same with HIV?

I am not suggesting that we we’ll eradicate all forms of sickness or disease. That would be unBiblical. But surely don’t hang the man for having an ambitious goal.

So, at this point in time, Rick Warren still has my vote.

my name is darryl
and this is what i have to say

About Darryl Schoeman

My Personal Life : challenge leads to thought and thought leads to change More than the Apostle Paul, I can say that I am the chief of sinners (really really really). But I love God and I love the Bible. So I try to live my life with the constant realisation that God is PERMANENTLY with me (yes even when I sin), and seek His presence in everything that I do (except when I sin) and in everything that happens. I share this with others so that they too can believe it and then seek to live it.

Posted on August 18, 2010, in In The News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. interresting. I wonder how many people are actually critical but have no personal biblical stance and innitiatives to back it up. let our fruits speak louder than our verbal critisms.

