Silence of the Lambs


If you’re reading the title and are experiencing a sense of de-ja-vu, then quite honestly, you’re giving away your age. But unlike the movie of the same title, this story centres around the lives of real people, and how their silences can be a place of healing for others.

So this is my wife’s first ever blog. I’ve been telling her for months to blog the stuff that she writes, but life has just gotten in the way. We regularly proof-read each other’s communication and as I re-read this “article”, I again told her that this must get out there into the world because people need to read this. Alas; here it is at last. Enjoy!

The foundation of this article is based on the scripture “… By His wounds we were healed (1 Peter 2:24).” Now before you write the rest off to a pie-in-the-sky, over-the-top, name-it-and-claim-it healing message, read on.

The other verses that play a significant role in the assumptions made in this article, are:

Acts 8:32 ”He was led like a sheep to be slaughtered, and as a lamb that is silent before the shearer, so He did not open His mouth. In His humiliation He was deprived of justice”

Isaiah 53:3” he was despised and rejected by men, a man of sorrows and familiar with suffering”

Here are her words.

I was sititng in church and one of the worship songs had the words: “He was wounded so we can be healed.”

As I pondered the words, I was reminded of the scene in The Passion where Jesus is ridiculed and physically abused beyond recognition.

All He did was stand there and take it………………………………..and later he prayed: ”Forgive them, for they know not what they do.”

I was reminded of how many verses there are that inform us that accepting Jesus as our Lord, not only affords us the opportunity to share in His glory and resurrection, but also His sufferings……….

Jesus Himself said that we should take up our cross and follow Him.

The power of Jesus’ ministry lies in the very fact that He overcame and in Revelations He refers numerous times to ”to the one who overcomes……”

Jesus overcame temptation, sin and death and so paved the way for us to be able to overcome it too.

He suffered rejection, false accusations, loneliness, depression, hunger and pain (both physically and emotionally)

Jesus is therefore able to undertand exactly what we are going through.

How often, once you have become a Christain, do we see the above scenario sort of mirrorred in our own lives?

Just as Jesus took on the form of man to experience the same temptations we are bombarded with and overcame it, so it is with the person who overcame addiction; they can most powerfully minister to the addicts, for he has been there.

Just as Jesus has experienced loss and emotional pain and can therefore stand in heaven and intercede on our behalf, so it is with the mother who suffered a miscarriage; she can best offer comfort and understanding and above all, true heartfelt prayers of intercession, for she has experienced the loss and pain and disillusionment 1st hand.

And herein lies the point that I want to get at:

If it is by the wounds of Christ that we are healed (on all levels be it physical, psycological, emotional), is it perhaps possible that if we follow in Christ’s footsteps and share in His sufferings that sometimes by OUR wounds, healing can flow too?

Let me explain.

Is it possible that when I make a decision to stick tooth and nail to my integrity and value system and as a result am rediculed at work behind my back, that at that moment when I decide to keep quiet and not explain myself, but lift up my chin and still smile at them and treat them as if I am unaware of their mocking behind my back, that the pain that I feel at that moment, may cause some shift in the spiritual that nullifies the destructive power satan started out with?

Is it possible that when I have been praying and thinking the whole day about my teenage son and how his end year exam went, and my sincere question regarding this gets answered with an irritated ”why do you always want to know everything?!!”, punching a hole right through my soul, that the moment I decide to keep quiet and decide to continue caring, that somewhere in the spiritual a bridge is built for the future, where satan planned a ravine ….?

Is it possible that when I do something sincerely and its good intent gets overlooked, ignored or even misunderstood, that the pain I feel because of wasted time and energy invested, that when I decide to keep quiet and not defend myself, but accept the fact that God at least knows what is done in secret, that instead of satan’s power in this situation escalating, it boomerangs back into his own dark kingdom leaving his plans of destruction to tumble like a house of cards?

Is it by any chance possible, that when we accept Christs’ challenge, found in the invitatation and warning ”to take up our cross and to share in His sufferings”, that as we walk in Christ’s footsteps, and experience pain, rejection and despise without justice, just like He did in Isaiah 53, and we choose to keep silent and pray in the face of our rebellious teenagers, insensitive collegues and ungratful beneficiaries, that by our wounds, there may be healing……………….

Because think about it!! When our collegues ridicule us, our teenagers reject us and those we do good too, misjudge our kind actions…………….90% of the time it is “because they do not know what they are doing…………..”

Is it possible that by the very wounds that are inflicted on me…………..that by those same wounds, healing or restoration can take place………….?

Perhaps if we can go forward with this in mind and pray more often, “forgive them, for they know not what they are doing”, we too will be able to face our oppositions one day and say like Joseph to his brothers ”you had intended this for harm, but God has intended it for good”

If it is by any chance possible………

……………then next time when I am wounded, rejected and dispised without justice, I too will keep quiet like a lamb before a shearer……….I will then more likely lift my cross courageously and rejoice in my sufferings, because through my wounds the power to heal and restore is released in the spiritual………..

God bless
Anna-Marie

Other verses to consider:

Mattew16:24 ”if anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross”

1 Corinthians 1:5 ”for just as the sufferings of Christ flow over into our lives…”

1 Peter 3:17 ”it is better if it is God’s will to suffer for doing good…”

1 Peter 4:12,19 ”Friends do not be surprised at the trials you are suffering as if though something strange is happening to you. So then those who suffer according to God’s will, should commit themselves to their faithfull creator and continue to do good”

Romans 5:3 ”for we rejoice in our suffering, because we know that our suffering produces perseverance, perseverance produces character, and character hope”

Posted on September 22, 2010, in Religion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Silence of the Lambs.

Comments are closed.

