Of light sabers, mosquito zappers and cell phones


Of recent, we have been watching the Star Wars series with Anna-Marie’s brother Nhlonipho. They have these incredible “laser swords” that have been the envy of every male child, for like 30 years now. It is such a cool weapon!! It’s got such a lot of power, just like a cell phone; neat and compact, but when you switch it on, boy does it smack you with a wallop.

Later that night, I got as close as I probably ever would, to a light saber (laser sword); my mosquito zapper. Just like the saber, I have to hold down a button to activate its power. As I slowly maneuver it through the air, there is this gentle hum that comes from it, just like the swords on TV. Then when I strike out and zap a mosquito, the contact makes this great big light and explosive sound. And in a strange (some may say deranged) kind of way, I feel like a hero, having hunted and killed the enemy.

Of course, this made me think!! John MacArthur recently tweeted (and I paraphrase) that the world has created many sources of power, but none is as powerful as the one you carry to church every Sunday (meaning the Bible of course). I was also reminded that we indeed have our OWN swords, which Paul calls, the sword of the Spirit (Ephesians 6:17). He goes further to say that this sword is the word of God.

There truly is no weapon more powerful than the word of God, both written (the Bible – logos) and revealed (personal revelation – rhema), for with it people’s lives and destinies have been altered, changed, modified, transformed. There is nothing in this world that can change the human heart and mind. Not swords and not pain (think William Wallace in Braveheart being “hurt terribly” but crying out freedom).

When you stand on the word of God and speak it out, that is when you are swish-swishing with the sword of the Spirit. And when you stand fully clothed in the armor of God, firm in the knowledge of what God has said in the Bible and what He has personally told you, then you will remain firm (steadfast) and unwavering, able to stand your ground (Ephesians 6:11).

So like light sabers and mosquito zappers and cell phones, the Bible is neat and compact. But when you turn it on (by opening and reading it), boy does it pack a punch.

my name is darryl
and this is what i have to say

About Darryl Schoeman

My Personal Life : challenge leads to thought and thought leads to change More than the Apostle Paul, I can say that I am the chief of sinners (really really really). But I love God and I love the Bible. So I try to live my life with the constant realisation that God is PERMANENTLY with me (yes even when I sin), and seek His presence in everything that I do (except when I sin) and in everything that happens. I share this with others so that they too can believe it and then seek to live it.

Posted on October 8, 2010, in Fun stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Of light sabers, mosquito zappers and cell phones.

Comments are closed.

