When last did you get a klap against the head?


Like every other day, I’m on my way back to get ready for work from dropping off my mother and brother in law, and there’s this lady driving in front of me, maybe just a little bit too slow for my morning routine. I’m poer-poering behind her when she (gratefully) indicates that she’s turning left, and starts veering in that direction. So I start veering right, to pass her, when suddenly she’s in front of me!!!!!! also turning right.

I’m slamming the brakes and eyeballing her, and she’s eyeballing me, and I’m saying ‘you stupid women’, and she can’t hear me, and I pull away still thinking she’s a stupid women, and then God klaps me on the back of the head.

He reminds me of the words of Aslan the Lion from the Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe, “Peace Oreius. I’m sure there’s an explanation.” And I’m thinking Nooooo!!! there’s NOT a good reason why that happened. And again I hear “Peace … I’m sure there’s an explanation.”

I was also reminded of a saying that says that we judge others by their actions and ourselves by our intentions. Yes, she nearly did cause an accident. And yes she did drive “poorly”. And God will deal with that in her. But at that moment, He was dealing with ME, with MY response.

In the midst of everything that was happening, He was simply saying that firstly I was not fully aware of all that led to her driving the way that she was driving, and secondly, that my response was not what it should have been. If I am truly to live in the example of Jesus (who is represented by Aslan in the movie), then my response should have been one of love and compassion towards her, not anger. For in the final analysis, when He hung on the cross, His response was, “Forgive them, for they know not what they do.” And at the end of it all, I truly did not know why she did what she did, and there probably was a good explanation.

So be humble always. For there probably is a good reason why that thing happened as it did.

God bless.

Titus 3:2 (NKJV) to speak evil of no one, to be peaceable, gentle, showing all humility to all men.

Colosians 3:12 (NKJV) Therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, put on tender mercies, kindness, humility, meekness, longsuffering;

my name is darryl
and this is what i have to say

About Darryl Schoeman

My Personal Life : challenge leads to thought and thought leads to change More than the Apostle Paul, I can say that I am the chief of sinners (really really really). But I love God and I love the Bible. So I try to live my life with the constant realisation that God is PERMANENTLY with me (yes even when I sin), and seek His presence in everything that I do (except when I sin) and in everything that happens. I share this with others so that they too can believe it and then seek to live it.

Posted on October 12, 2010, in Living the Word and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. ha! good one buti. we should never disqualify our position as the offended by responding with offense, because we just become as guilty (if not more) as the other person. Trick for staying innocent.

    Thanks for the reminder.

