I am a housewife


And have the mark(s) to prove it!!! Okay, okay!!! so I’m not really a housewife (I’m a guy). But I am a househusband. For those that are in the loop (in other words close to me), know that about 6 months ago I resigned from my day job to take over the running of the household whilst my wife re-entered the working world to bring in the finances. And just the other day as I was standing and brushing my teeth, my wife quipped after observing my dry and cracked heels, “Gosh, but you’re really looking like a housewife now.” So here I am – a wanna be Tony Danza from Who’s the Boss fame.

It did not offend me at all (it just itches sometimes), but it did make me think of how much of who one is, is communicated by what people can see. Yes, it is true that one should not judge a book by its cover, but the truth is that we DO make judgement calls about what we think people are like, based on their exterior appearance. St Francis of Assisi once said, “Preach the gospel, and if necessary, use words.” In effect, what he was saying, was live the Christian life such that people can observe your Christianity by what they can see (exterior appearances). Jesus alluded to this when He said “Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven” (Matthew 5:16 NKJV).

And so, I don’t have to necessarily tell anyone that I am a stay at home dad (or a Christian). All that they have to do is take a look at my feet (and my life).

But a more important mark is not the one that we bear, but the one that Christ bears of us. In the movie Toy story, Buzz Lightyear says to some of the other toys that he has been accepted into their culture as their leader (Andy the child and owner of the toys) had written his name on him (Buzz). The dinosaur toy excitedly remarks, “With permanent ink” implying that it will never change. Now the truth unfortunately is, that with a little bit of water and a brush, that permanent ink name will indeed dissappear.

But not the one Jesus bears of you. Jesus said, “Nevertheless do not rejoice in this, that the spirits are subject to you [the temporal mark that we now bear], but rather rejoice because your names are written in heaven” (Luke 10:20 NKJV). And “I will also give him a white stone with a new name written on it, known only to him who receives it” (Revelation 2:17 NIV).

And finally, this is the only mark to be written with truly permanent ink, NEVER to fade: “He who overcomes will, like them, be dressed in white. I will never blot out his name from the book of life, but will acknowledge his name before my Father and his angels” (Revelation 3:5 NIV).

Does Jesus bear your name?

my name is darryl
and this is what i have to say

About Darryl Schoeman

My Personal Life : challenge leads to thought and thought leads to change More than the Apostle Paul, I can say that I am the chief of sinners (really really really). But I love God and I love the Bible. So I try to live my life with the constant realisation that God is PERMANENTLY with me (yes even when I sin), and seek His presence in everything that I do (except when I sin) and in everything that happens. I share this with others so that they too can believe it and then seek to live it.

Posted on January 24, 2012, in Christianity, Living the Word and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. To him who overcomes I will grant to sit with Me on My throne, as I also overcame and sat down with My Father on His throne.

  2. I am a housewife too!!! Only my heels look great 🙂 A favourite scripture ” How beautiful are the feet of them that bring Good News!!!” (short.) Is.52:7
    Glad tidings to you….househusband!!!

    • Thanks Loli. Ja, my wife has being telling me to where some socks with foot cream on, but it’s been a bit too hot for that. Hopefully I’ll get it sorted out after the summer heat has left us. And thank you for the verse. I love it. I’m going to share it with my friends of facebook. God bless. Darryl.

