God: Why is my dog not dead yet?


Now before you run off and go report me to the SPCA (or some other animal anti-cruelty organisation) for having ill thoughts towards an animal, my dog is not dead. (Yet!) But I will confess that I have asked God that question. And I will confess too that I didn’t feel bad asking that question!! You see, my dog is 15+ years old. In human terms, that is not very old but in doggie years, it’s ancient (something like 105 years).

At 105, my dog is practically blind and deaf, has lost muscle mass that borders on anorexic (yet eats like a horse), and gets herself “stuck” in the corner of a wall. She kicks her food and water over on a regular basis, and if it were not for me being home to be able to replenish the water supply, she would probably have died from dehydration a long time ago. In a nutshell, she’s extremely demanding.

But that is not the worst of it!!! Besides getting herself stuck in the corner of a wall, she has this (annoying) tendency of getting herself stuck behind or in any (and many) type of object (even her kennel). And so many times I would hear this soft whimper that would gradually increase into a type of continuous yelping howl, and I would have to go fish her out of whatever mess she’s gotten herself into.

Now, it was after one of these yelping-get-me-out-my-mess-again occasions that I turned heavenward and asked “God! Why is my dog not dead yet?” I mean, it was the fourth time that morning alone and each time she was IN THE SAME STUPID HOLE. Wouldn’t you be frustrated too?

There’s a Christian saying that has done its rounds which goes, “Be careful of what one asks of God as He may just give it to you.” But it can also be said to be true that one must be careful to talk to God as He may just answer you. And this He did.

After asking God why my dog was still alive, He said, “You’re studying to become a pastor and as a pastor, you’re going to have to go fish some of your members out of the mess that they’re going to get themselves into. And sometimes, they’ll be getting themselves into the same mess over and over and over and over again, and each time, you’re just going to have to go fish them out.” And so there it was! I had the answer to my question – my dog was still alive to teach me a lesson.

Now you may be asking, what is the point of me telling you this story? Two things. Firstly, God does speak (yes even today). You just gotta be prepared to listen (and then obey) (see James 1:5, James 4:2, 1 John 5:14, 1 Timothy 5:5, James 1:23). The second thing is that God has a plan and a purpose for EVERYTHING that is happening in your life. If you are going through something, pray and ask God what it is that He is wanting to teach/reveal to you. You may not get a quick answer, but I assure you that there IS a reason (see Romans 8:28).

my name is Darryl
and this is what I have to say

PS – At my dogs age, it has been suggested that I have her put out to ease her own suffering. That would help me indeed. But I have prayed (before this whole event took place) that God would take her at His own time. So clearly there is more for me still to “learn” or experience through her. May God give me the grace to learn quickly.

Scripture references (all NIV)
James 1:5 If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.

James 4:2 You want something but don’t get it. You kill and covet, but you cannot have what you want. You quarrel and fight. You do not have, because you do not ask God.

1 John 5:14 This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us.

1 Timothy 5:5 The widow who is really in need and left all alone puts her hope in God and continues night and day to pray and to ask God for help.

James 1:23 Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like a man who looks at his face in a mirror

Romans 8:28 And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

About Darryl Schoeman

My Personal Life : challenge leads to thought and thought leads to change More than the Apostle Paul, I can say that I am the chief of sinners (really really really). But I love God and I love the Bible. So I try to live my life with the constant realisation that God is PERMANENTLY with me (yes even when I sin), and seek His presence in everything that I do (except when I sin) and in everything that happens. I share this with others so that they too can believe it and then seek to live it.

Posted on January 30, 2012, in Christianity, Living the Word and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

