The secret to perfect shovel fry


(Not a repeat of yesterdays Facebook thread – so read on) For those of you who were following my homeboy guide to pork shovel fry (formerly known as stir fry) yesterday on Facebook, this is not a repeat of yesterday’s steps. And whilst I will be ‘giving’ away the secret to the perfect shovel fry, there is as usual, more to the blog than simply a key to a recipe.

To recap yesterday’s points, I have NO idea why stir fry is called stir fry as you don’t actually stir it, but rather shovel the food around. So my thanks goes to Cindy Green for coining the term shovel fry. I also got tired of typing out house husband all the time and so decided that I would hence forth be known as homeboy.

And so the afternoon started with step 1 (cook 1 cup of rice) through to step 6 (throw the rice into the mix), with a question being asked later of whether it was nice. I said it was phenomenal (and it was) but also said that if anyone were to follow the steps as I laid it out on Facebook, they wouldn’t get the same result. The reason: there was a secret sub-step that needed to be done in order for it to turn out phenomenal.

And here it is: the secret to awesome shovel fry is crispy veg. If your veggies are too soft then effectively you have a stew and not a shovel fry. You may as well throw a soup or sauce in and spare yourself the embarrassment. And the secret to the secret is that not all veggies cook at the same speed, and have to be thrown in at various intervals to ensure a perfect (or phenomenal) outcome.

So there you have it. The secret to perfect shovel fry revealed.

So what has all this got to do with living a life of faith? Very simply this: there is no secret. You see, far too many times we want to hide behind some or other hidden secret or key as to why we don’t want to believe in the God of the Bible. We want to believe that if there is a secret to the perfect shovel fry, then surely there must be a secret to living a life of faith more effectively. We want to be able to ‘fail’ and have it revealed (or at least we try to convince ourselves) that the real reason we failed was because we didn’t have ALL the information, didn’t have ALL the steps, didn’t have ALL the whatever.

Well, there is no special secret to living a life of faith. You simply have to love God (see Matthew 22:37) and (by extension) love the Bible (see 1 John 5:3). For when you do, you take your instruction from the Bible in order to honour the God you love. It is that simple. And yet our flesh would have us cry out and make us want to believe that it can’t be THAT simple. And yet it is.

Now I’m not suggesting that by the end of this read you’ll all be perfect little robots. No. We DO live in a fallen world and we will only be perfect when Christ returns. But I am suggesting that we can ALL strive a little harder to live a life of faith that is more God honouring than what it may now be, as there is no secret to being able to.

my name is darryl
and this is what i have to say

PS – There is no special secret to eternal life. It has and always will be Jesus of Nazareth, the Christ. He is the ONLY way, truth and life, and no one can go unto the Father but by Him (Jesus) (see John 14:6).

Scriptural References (all NIV):

Matthew 22:37 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’

1 John 5:3 This is love for God: to obey his commands. And his commands are not burdensome,

John 14:6 Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

About Darryl Schoeman

My Personal Life : challenge leads to thought and thought leads to change More than the Apostle Paul, I can say that I am the chief of sinners (really really really). But I love God and I love the Bible. So I try to live my life with the constant realisation that God is PERMANENTLY with me (yes even when I sin), and seek His presence in everything that I do (except when I sin) and in everything that happens. I share this with others so that they too can believe it and then seek to live it.

Posted on February 1, 2012, in Christianity, Fun stuff, Living the Word and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on The secret to perfect shovel fry.

Comments are closed.

