Hop, Skip, and Jump in the Sand Celebrations


And how we’ve taken our eye off the ball. I was completing an assignment the other day and was racking my brain searching for a specific expression to use. I ended up using a mixture of two expressions that didn’t quite sound right, but was all that I could come up with. Needless to say (or as Murphy’s Law would have it), it was only after I submitted the assignment that the correct wording came to mind. The expression I was looking for was ‘hop, skip and jump’.

This made me think of the athletic event known as triple jump where you kind of do do a hop, a skip and then a jump into the sand, which in turn got me thinking of the Olympics and how the crowds would gather to celebrate the special achievements of the many athletes. I pictured in my mind how the triple jumper would prepare to run whilst the crowd watched intently, how they’d do their thing and then land in the sand and how the crowd would cheer and the athlete would stand up and raise their hands in the air in appreciation.

And as I pondered on this imaginary scene, it struck me that the person (the athlete that is) had just jumped into a pit of sand. And I thought to myself, is that REALLY worth celebrating? I mean, as a parent I would think it absolutely preposterous if my son’s pre-school were to sell tickets just to see how the kids jump into the sandpit. AND they’d even throw in a couple of antics JUST to please their adoring fans (the crowd). Yes, the professional athlete may have done it from quite a distance, but is it really that extraordinary? Is it really that important that we gather around and hand out trophies for it?

Now I’m not knocking triple jumpers, long jumpers, or any other type of athlete, but I do have to wonder whether, as ‘aliens in the world’ (passing through the world the Bible tells us) haven’t we maybe taken our eye off the ball a bit (the goal that is).

Consider this verse: “I tell you that in the same way there will be more rejoicing in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who do not need to repent” (Luke 15:7 NIV).

I don’t know about you, but I didn’t read anything there about any rejoicing for jumping in the sand! Or winning the super bowl! Or the world cup of whatever! What I DID read was that there is a party every time a person turns to God. Now if God considers it party time when someone becomes a Christian, the question really is, when last did YOU throw a party when someone became a Christian? Or for that matter, when last did the church throw a party when someone accepted Christ?

Somehow we have become completely desensitised as to what is the real goal of life: to see people turn to God and to get people to heaven. And that THAT is a really, really, really good reason to be getting excited!

Yes, we must still live. Yes, we must still be the best at that which we do. But I’m simply wondering when last did you even THINK of the lost? Jesus gave up the glories of heaven to save the lost. There is not a hope that your life comes anything close to what He had in heaven. Yet He gave it up for you and me and every other person on this planet.

I don’t expect you to go change your life a whole lot. But I AM suggesting that you take just a moment to consider that there is more to your life than getting excited about something that is really not eternal, whatever that might be for you.

my name is darryl
and this is what i have to say

About Darryl Schoeman

My Personal Life : challenge leads to thought and thought leads to change More than the Apostle Paul, I can say that I am the chief of sinners (really really really). But I love God and I love the Bible. So I try to live my life with the constant realisation that God is PERMANENTLY with me (yes even when I sin), and seek His presence in everything that I do (except when I sin) and in everything that happens. I share this with others so that they too can believe it and then seek to live it.

Posted on February 20, 2012, in Christianity, Living the Word and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. The Great Commission should remain fresh in our minds..Thanks for the reminder
    Darrell

