The McDonald’s Pastor


My son is turning 6 this year and we get to talk a lot about what he wants to be when he grows up. It usually vacilates between being a leader of God’s people, to being a worship leader, to being a doctor. I believe he has an afinity to be any one of these, but personally believe that God may be wanting him to be a doctor.

Now my son really enjoys his McDonald’s chicken burger treat every month and declared emphatically the other day that McDonald’s chefs are the best in the world. So taken is he with his McDonald’s burger, he told me that when I was training to be a restaurant manager (at a different chain of restaurants), it was actually McDonald’s chefs training me. And so, today he tells me in the car that he’s going to be a McDonald’s chef in the morning, a doctor in the afternoon, and a soccer player in the evening.

A minute passes by and he says, “I also want to be a pastor, but you can’t do four jobs can you?” So I tell him that being a pastor is not something you do but something that you are. I said that when he’s busy serving food as a McDonald’s chef, nothing stops him from engaging with the people he is serving and telling them about Jesus and God and praying for them.

This really is the essence of what Peter was saying when he spoke of Christians being a royal priesthood (see 1 Peter 2:9), and what Paul had in mind when he spoke of equipping Christians for ministry (see Ephesians 4:12). This has come to be known as the ‘priesthood of all believers’ or ‘every member ministry’, where every single one of us is a minister, every single one of us is a priest, every single one of us is a pastor. No special requirements, qualifications or training needed. Just an open heart and a willing spirit.

So when last did you take the time to be a pastor? What is stopping you from being one? You can leave a comment by clicking here.

my name is darryl
and this is what i have to say

Scripture references:

1 Peter 2:9 (NKJV) But you are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, His own special people, that you may proclaim the praises of Him who called you out of darkness into His marvelous light;

Ephesians 4:12 (NKJV) for the equipping of the saints for the work of ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ,

About Darryl Schoeman

My Personal Life : challenge leads to thought and thought leads to change More than the Apostle Paul, I can say that I am the chief of sinners (really really really). But I love God and I love the Bible. So I try to live my life with the constant realisation that God is PERMANENTLY with me (yes even when I sin), and seek His presence in everything that I do (except when I sin) and in everything that happens. I share this with others so that they too can believe it and then seek to live it.

Posted on March 7, 2012, in Christianity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good News Devotions

    May God Bless the McDonald’s chef pastor… Bro Pat

