Hindsight Becomes Our Foresight


I had the privilege of having a God moment a couple of years ago and was reminded of it again this morning. When I worked for Telkom, we would always at the beginning of the year, have a ‘rear-view’ meeting. The intention of the meeting was to evaluate what had happened the past year as we were moving forward into the new year. Kind of like driving a car and looking in the rear-view mirror; you’re still moving forward, but observing what has passed.

I remember having the privilege of preaching to a whole bunch of students at a Sunday service and whilst I can’t remember what the message was about, I do remember saying something that was not in my notes – the God moment. I was talking about the future and how the older generation invests in the younger generation and how the younger generation must look to the older generation for advice, support, council and mentorship. I remember confessing that the older generation to which they would look, did not always get things right but that they (the younger generation) then had the opportunity to learn from our mistakes.

And that’s when the God moment struck. I said to them that our hindsight becomes their foresight. As we as the older generation look back and take stock of the past, what has been tried and tested, what has worked or not worked, they – the younger generation – can take and use to make wiser choices for the future and not make the same mistakes. Our hindsight has become their foresight.

The Bible is full of such examples. Take Joseph (Genesis 39) and David (2 Samuel 11) for instance, and how each of them handled their lust temptations. There is much to learn in the correct response (Joseph). But there is also much to learn in repentance (David – 2 Samuel 12:13 & Psalm 51). In hindsight we can look at how they each responded and what the results were. In foresight we can know how we should be responding.

And so it is with every situation in life. There is nothing that God cannot use for His glory. Both testaments confirm this (see Genesis 50:20 & Romans 8:28). EVERYTHING that happens in your life, good or bad, can be used by God. Everything in hindsight can become your foresight (or even someone else’s). You just got to let God in, be open to His prompting, and then be obedient to His plan.

Is there something that has happened in your life that God is wanting to use? What hindsights do you have that have become your foresights? You can leave a comment by clicking here.

my name is darryl
and this is what i have to say

Scripture References:

Genesis 50:20 (NIV) You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives.

Romans 8:28 (NIV) And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

2 Samuel 12:13 (NIV) Then David said to Nathan, “I have sinned against the LORD.” Nathan replied, “The LORD has taken away your sin. You are not going to die.

Psalm 51:1-19 (NIV)
For the director of music. A psalm of David. When the prophet Nathan came to him after David had committed adultery with Bathsheba. (1) Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love; according to your great compassion blot out my transgressions. (2) Wash away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin. (3) For I know my transgressions, and my sin is always before me. (4) Against you, you only, have I sinned and done what is evil in your sight, so that you are proved right when you speak and justified when you judge. (5) Surely I was sinful at birth, sinful from the time my mother conceived me. (6) Surely you desire truth in the inner parts; you teach me wisdom in the inmost place. (7) Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean; wash me, and I will be whiter than snow. (8) Let me hear joy and gladness; let the bones you have crushed rejoice. (9) Hide your face from my sins and blot out all my iniquity. (10) Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. (11) Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me. (12) Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me. (13) Then I will teach transgressors your ways, and sinners will turn back to you. (14) Save me from bloodguilt, O God, the God who saves me, and my tongue will sing of your righteousness. (15) O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise. (16) You do not delight in sacrifice, or I would bring it; you do not take pleasure in burnt offerings. (17) The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise. (18) In your good pleasure make Zion prosper; build up the walls of Jerusalem. (19) Then there will be righteous sacrifices, whole burnt offerings to delight you; then bulls will be offered on your altar.

Genesis 39:1-23 (NIV)
(1) Now Joseph had been taken down to Egypt. Potiphar, an Egyptian who was one of Pharaoh’s officials, the captain of the guard, bought him from the Ishmaelites who had taken him there. (2) The LORD was with Joseph and he prospered, and he lived in the house of his Egyptian master. (3) When his master saw that the LORD was with him and that the LORD gave him success in everything he did, (4) Joseph found favor in his eyes and became his attendant. Potiphar put him in charge of his household, and he entrusted to his care everything he owned. (5) From the time he put him in charge of his household and of all that he owned, the LORD blessed the household of the Egyptian because of Joseph. The blessing of the LORD was on everything Potiphar had, both in the house and in the field. (6) So he left in Joseph’s care everything he had; with Joseph in charge, he did not concern himself with anything except the food he ate. Now Joseph was well-built and handsome, (7) and after a while his master’s wife took notice of Joseph and said, “Come to bed with me!” (8) But he refused. “With me in charge,” he told her, “my master does not concern himself with anything in the house; everything he owns he has entrusted to my care. (9) No one is greater in this house than I am. My master has withheld nothing from me except you, because you are his wife. How then could I do such a wicked thing and sin against God?” (10) And though she spoke to Joseph day after day, he refused to go to bed with her or even be with her. (11) One day he went into the house to attend to his duties, and none of the household servants was inside. (12) She caught him by his cloak and said, “Come to bed with me!” But he left his cloak in her hand and ran out of the house. (13) When she saw that he had left his cloak in her hand and had run out of the house, (14) she called her household servants. “Look,” she said to them, “this Hebrew has been brought to us to make sport of us! He came in here to sleep with me, but I screamed. (15) When he heard me scream for help, he left his cloak beside me and ran out of the house.” (16) She kept his cloak beside her until his master came home. (17) Then she told him this story: “That Hebrew slave you brought us came to me to make sport of me. (18) But as soon as I screamed for help, he left his cloak beside me and ran out of the house.” (19) When his master heard the story his wife told him, saying, “This is how your slave treated me,” he burned with anger. (20) Joseph’s master took him and put him in prison, the place where the king’s prisoners were confined. But while Joseph was there in the prison, (21) the LORD was with him; he showed him kindness and granted him favor in the eyes of the prison warden. (22) So the warden put Joseph in charge of all those held in the prison, and he was made responsible for all that was done there. (23) The warden paid no attention to anything under Joseph’s care, because the LORD was with Joseph and gave him success in whatever he did.

About Darryl Schoeman

My Personal Life : challenge leads to thought and thought leads to change More than the Apostle Paul, I can say that I am the chief of sinners (really really really). But I love God and I love the Bible. So I try to live my life with the constant realisation that God is PERMANENTLY with me (yes even when I sin), and seek His presence in everything that I do (except when I sin) and in everything that happens. I share this with others so that they too can believe it and then seek to live it.

Posted on March 8, 2012, in Christianity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Hindsight Becomes Our Foresight.

Comments are closed.

