Most Important Lesson I Learnt Doing Network Marketing


This image is courtesy of ddpavumba @ FreeDigitalPhotos.net

That’s right! I did a stint in network marketing. I was in Telkom at the time and hoping to retire at age 30 with that all elusive “passive income” sustaining me for the rest of my life. Well I’m closer to 40, still not retired, and very far from any sort of passive income. Needless to say, I’m not doing network marketing anymore.

Whilst there are a lot of negatives that I could hold against network marketing (or rather my particular experience), there were some positives too. One of the best positives was how they got us to read books to develop ourselves. As a result I was introduced to many great titles and authors.

One particular book that I read (I cannot remember the title or author) had a statement in it that has stuck with me ever since I read it more than a decade ago. The statement was:

If you have to say that you are then you aren’t.

The essence of the statement was that if you have to tell people that you’re successful or rich, then in reality you weren’t. Because if you were, people would be able to see it and you wouldn’t have to tell them or announce it.

This is true of Christianity too. St. Francis of Assisi is quoted as saying “Preach the Gospel at all times and when necessary use words.” Jesus Himself said that by our fruit people would know that we are His disciples (see John 15:8). This speaks of some recognisable evidence other than our verbal proclamation that declares us to be Christian.

I am not talking about a list of do’s and don’ts. What I AM talking about is that inner character that makes your light so shine before men that they see your good works and praise God (see Matthew 5:16). If you are a follower of Jesus then there simply must be some form of evidence. If there isn’t, well … … If you have to say that you are then you aren’t

What fruit (evidence) do you think Jesus was referring to? How and why is this evidence important? You can leave a comment by clicking here.

my name is darryl
and this is what i have to say

Scripture references:

John 15:8 (NIV) This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.

Matthew 5:16 (NIV) In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.

About Darryl Schoeman

My Personal Life : challenge leads to thought and thought leads to change More than the Apostle Paul, I can say that I am the chief of sinners (really really really). But I love God and I love the Bible. So I try to live my life with the constant realisation that God is PERMANENTLY with me (yes even when I sin), and seek His presence in everything that I do (except when I sin) and in everything that happens. I share this with others so that they too can believe it and then seek to live it.

Posted on March 15, 2012, in Christianity, Living the Word, Practical Faith and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Well this is what I think and have experienced.

    Where I come from, Christians look a particular way, that is, wear certain clothing that make them look dignified. Women- long skirts, head coverings and that sort. And the reason why im only mentioning women is another topic altogether. Ok, so basically the point im trying to make here is, it kinda depends on WHERE you are.

    I now answer the question. The fruits Jesus was reffering to, are DEEDS. I say this because even Jesus himself was called or known by different names because of the things He did for different people. To some He was known as the Messiah, Healer, Son of God, the list goes on.

    So I strongly believe that by our deeds, good deeds we will be showing our fruits. And yes we are different trees and therefore bear various kinds of fruits. So just because my neighbour is involved in charities and donates loadz of money doesnt mean I should be shy and not donate my time cos thats what I have.

    So by loving our neighbour as we love ourselves, it shouldnt be so hard to do things for people who are needy, not just poverty stricken but who need God.

  2. Wow! I’ve just been challenged and am going to have to brood over what you’ve just said about Jesus’ deeds being His evidence, because there is an element of truth in it.

    My view of fruit has always being the fruits of the Spirit (Galatians 5) and not deeds. You see, there are many people who profess Christ as Lord and yet do not reflect the fruits of the Spirit. Even Jesus made reference to the lack of deeds as being the evidence of discipleship (Matthew 7:22 – 23 >>> Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and in your name drive out demons and perform many miracles?’ Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’).

    On another occasion He said that we would recognise false prophets by their fruit (Matthew 7:15), I believe Him referring to the fruit of the sinful nature listed in Galatians 5:19-21 (The acts of the sinful nature are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.) If we are then displaying these fruit, we need to be ‘questioning’ ourselves.

    Yes there are a lot of ‘man made traditions’ that need to get slammed. And whilst certain external evidences (like the wearing of appropriate clothing) is kind of a ‘sign’, if one were doing it for the One that we love, it wouldn’t even be a concern. But because someone IS wearing inappropriate clothing (and it’s only an example), we do kind of question where they are at.

    God bless
    Darryl

    PS – my reference to inappropriate clothing has not got to do with hats, trousers, skirts, etc, but rather clothing that reveals too much, be it men or women.

