Okay! So my dog is finally dead!!


For those that have read my blog regularly, may recall the post “God: Why is my dog not dead yet?” (click here to read it). It centred on my very aged dog struggling with ailing health and how I wanted her to die so that her suffering would end, but my repeated prayers of compassion seemingly falling on God’s deaf ears. And so one day (in desperation) I prayed and asked God why my dog is not dead yet?

Well, He answered me and you can read all about it here. Needless to say, He didn’t tell me when she was going to die. And so I continued with my still ageing dog for another month and a half before I again cried out, “God: Why is my dog not dead yet?” You see, besides her own suffering that everyone was telling me she must be going through, she was also becoming a real nuisance. and admittedly, I was getting frustrated. So I wanted both her and MY suffering to end.

Well, He answered me again!! But this time with a different answer than the last one. Where He last told me that He was using my dog to teach me a very specific lesson, this time He told me that the reason he had not yet taken her, is because He has given us (humans) dominion over the animals; it was up to me to decide when to let her go (that is euthanase her). This I eventually did. And so, yes! My dog is finally dead.

The point of the post though is that there is no greater joy than to hear from God. Admittedly, I have never heard God speak with an audible voice, but I HAVE had God impress things upon my heart and mind that I know is from Him. How is it that I can hear God speak? Simply because I am looking for God in EVERYTHING that I do. Jeremiah 29:13 says that we will seek God and find Him when we seek Him with all our heart. When you seek God in everything that you do, I guarantee you that you will hear God speak to you.

But how do I know that it is God? That is where faith comes in. This is not the faith of Hebrews 11:6 which says that we must believe that God exists, but rather the faith of James 1:5-6 which believes that God answers us when we pray or speak to Him. And so, if you have asked God for wisdom, BELIEVE that He will answer you and be expectant for that answer. Seek Him with ALL your heart and you WILL find him. And when He DOES answer you, don’t doubt it. Satan will come to plant the seed of doubt in your mind just as quickly as God answers you, just like he did in the Garden of Eden. Believe that God speaks to you and you will hear Him.

But what if He did speak and your world is now turned upside down, causing you to doubt that you heard Him? I’ll answer that question next week.

Hearing God speak might require some changes to your life.

  1. You will have to believe that he speaks to us even today.
  2. You will have to actively pursue hearing from Him.
    • This requires listening more than praying.
    • For some, it might even mean praying more than just “Give me my daily wants”.
    • And you will have to remove those things that are distracting you from hearing God (i.e. TV, radio, internet, etc.)
  3. You will have to believe that He has spoken to you.
  4. You will have to act on what He has said.

Have you heard God speak to you? Do you believe that He still speaks to us today? What is stopping you from hearing Him speak? You can leave a comment by clicking here.

my name is darryl
and this is what i have to say

Scripture references:
Unless otherwise stated, all references are from the New International Version.

Jeremiah 29:13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

Hebrews 11:6 And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.

James 1:5-6 If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.  (6)  But when he asks, he must believe and not doubt, because he who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind.

About Darryl Schoeman

My Personal Life : challenge leads to thought and thought leads to change More than the Apostle Paul, I can say that I am the chief of sinners (really really really). But I love God and I love the Bible. So I try to live my life with the constant realisation that God is PERMANENTLY with me (yes even when I sin), and seek His presence in everything that I do (except when I sin) and in everything that happens. I share this with others so that they too can believe it and then seek to live it.

Posted on April 3, 2012, in Christianity, Living the Word, Practical Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I loved this:
    “Admittedly, I have never heard God speak with an audible voice, but I HAVE had God impress things upon my heart and mind that I know is from Him. How is it that I can hear God speak? Simply because I am looking for God in EVERYTHING that I do.”

    I love hearing His voice–but I so forget to LOOK for Him in EVERYTHING I do. Thank you sooo much for the reminder! There really are so many opportunities to hear Him, but I usually restrict it to time when I can sit and be quiet! Thank you for sharing your story!

    • Dear Jennifer. Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment and encourage me. This is the goal of my posts – to show / share that God is with them in everything. May God bless you as you now find Him in everything. Amen.

  1. Pingback: When God speaks only one puzzle piece at a time « this is what i have to say

