Violinists reminded me


this is what i have to say - violinists reminded me - casting crowns

I was listening to Casting Crowns this morning as I was dropping the children at school. There was this one portion where violins were the featured musical instrument. I was once again struck by the awe and beauty of the sound, and with that, the amount of effort and practice that most likely went into making the violinists as good as they were. I was truly blessed just by the excellence of the violinists. And I was reminded that EVERY job that is done if done to the glory of God, is worship to God (cf. Colossians 3:23).

May each of you be blessed today as you do that which God has ordained for you to do. May you do it in such a way that it glorifies God. Amen.

my name is darryl
and this is what i have to say

About Darryl Schoeman

My Personal Life : challenge leads to thought and thought leads to change More than the Apostle Paul, I can say that I am the chief of sinners (really really really). But I love God and I love the Bible. So I try to live my life with the constant realisation that God is PERMANENTLY with me (yes even when I sin), and seek His presence in everything that I do (except when I sin) and in everything that happens. I share this with others so that they too can believe it and then seek to live it.

Posted on February 15, 2013, in Christianity, Living the Word, Practical Faith and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I love Casting Crowns, their social commentary in their songs always touches a nerve.

  2. Amen. I know what you mean. Music is spiritual and there is power to build up or tear down. It’s more serious than people realize and that’s why we have to be prayerful to be separated from secular music. It’s a hard and threatening truth that takes a deep surrender, but it’s possible.

    Praise him with the sounding of the trumpet,
    praise him with the harp and lyre,
    praise him with tambourine and dancing,
    praise him with the strings and flute,
    praise him with the clash of cymbals,
    praise him with resounding cymbals.
    Let everything that has breath praise the Lord.
    Praise the Lord. -Psalm 150: 3-6, NIV 1984

    • Hey Zanspence.

      Thank you for your comment.

      But is ALL secular music really un-spiritual? I don’t know if I can agree.

      By the same degree then, any artistic expression that is not directly expressing worship to God (i.e. secular artistic expression) would or should then be deemed as un-spiritual and to be avoided.

      But then I would ask why is it that God Himself gave Daniel and his friends “… knowledge and understanding [NKJV says skill] in all literature and learning [NKJV says wisdom] …” (cf. Daniel 1:17 NIV). Did these men exercise this gifting/talent ONLY in religious/spiritual forms of literature? I don’t think so as the Bible says they were given it in ALL forms of literature and wisdom.

      My view on the matter is that if a secular expression does not distinctly and directly dishonour God, then it is not to be avoided, but rejoiced.

      What do you think?

  3. We are saying the same thing. My comment was an endpoint and yours the starting point. To combine the two I would say there is very very few few and farbetween that we can listen to.

