Looking to pick a fight


Samson went down to Timnah and saw there a young Philistine woman. (2) When he returned, he said to his father and mother, “I have seen a Philistine woman in Timnah; now get her for me as my wife.” (3) His father and mother replied, “Isn’t there an acceptable woman among your relatives or among all our people? Must you go to the uncircumcised Philistines to get a wife?” But Samson said to his father, “Get her for me. She’s the right one for me.” (4) (His parents did not know that this was from the LORD, who was seeking an occasion to confront the Philistines; for at that time they were ruling over Israel.) Judges 14:1-4 (NIV – emphasis mine)

In Judges 13:5, an angel of the Lord tells Manoah’s wife that she will bear a son (Samson) and that he will begin to deliver Israel out of the hands of the Philistines. Later, when Samson is all grown up, he wants to marry a Philistine girl. Of course his parents are not happy as the Philistines are their oppressors.

But the key to this whole unfolding of events, is Judges 14:4; God was allowing Samson to be interested in marrying a Philistine women because God was looking for an occasion – a reason – to fight the Philistines.

In a nutshell, God was looking to pick a fight.

And He just so by the way had the right chap for the job.

my name is darryl
and this is what i have to say

About Darryl Schoeman

My Personal Life : challenge leads to thought and thought leads to change More than the Apostle Paul, I can say that I am the chief of sinners (really really really). But I love God and I love the Bible. So I try to live my life with the constant realisation that God is PERMANENTLY with me (yes even when I sin), and seek His presence in everything that I do (except when I sin) and in everything that happens. I share this with others so that they too can believe it and then seek to live it.

Posted on August 5, 2013, in Christianity, Religious Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Looking to pick a fight.

Comments are closed.